Congratulations to our 2011-2012 Long Service Recipients

On behalf of the staff and students of AOB, we would like to acknowledge and congratulate the following people for their service to ECSD.

15 years

Alex Buttigieg

Jason Fischer

Fidel Guerra

George Koufogiannakis

20 years

Lisa Gennaro

Jo-Anne Gill

Colleen Holzer

25 years

Margaret Deme

Gerry Huculak

Darcy Ogonoski

Glenn Ann Patterson

30 years

Donna Horne

Joan Kabotoff

Debbie Rowley


3 Cheers for our Cheer Teams!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The cheer program at Austin O’Brien continues to grow.  In our tenth year, we were very pleased to be able to put two teams on the competition mat.  We are very proud to say that AOB was the only school in Alberta to do this. We had an incredible and successful season.  Our Small Varsity Team placed in every event and brought home the gold medal in March, at the largest cheer competition in Canada hosted by Alberta Cheerleading Association at West Edmonton Mall. The Co-ed Team had only four seniors and was made of mostly rookies in grade 10.  This team was sensational placing second at provincials in Brooks, Alberta, in February and bringing home the gold medal at the final event of the season at the Ross Sheppard Cheer Extravaganza in late March.  None of this would be possible if not for the hard work and dedication of our coaching staff guided by Head Coach/Math Teacher/ASAA Cheer Commissioner, Jeannie Monilaws.  At times, it seemed the practices each Tuesday and Friday evening as well as Sunday afternoons from September through March would never end! However, in the end, it was commitment to these practices that made the season so successful.  Congratulations to both the Small Varsity and Co-ed Cheer Squads!  We are proud of you….yes we are proud of you!